Tuesday, April 30, 2013

The Latest About Me

#NowPlaying Nanci Griffith - Blue Roses From The Moons – “Across The Great Divide”

So, here’s the latest info.

I did some more career searching today at almost the end of my work day while I wasn’t needed for anything else. I found this article telling people to NOT be research scientists because it’s probably not going to be what you think. (I’m paraphrasing here.) The author complained that the officials are putting out too many Ph.Ds. that the supply is too high for the demand. So, that means most Ph.D grads are doing something else for their careers. The only reason that the author said that he was a scientist was because he became one in the ‘70s, when they were still in high demand and shorter supply, I guess.

So, I’m thinking about other areas of science, too. Like the study of sleep – Polysomnography. It might mean my job is at night, but at least, if I look into it more, it could be something that I might be excited about. I do have (and have had) interest in the phases of sleep and things like that. 

Thursday, April 25, 2013

More Random Thoughts

Now Playing: Metallica - The God That Failed

Well, this evening, after work and dinner, I helped my mom with continuing to make her Ancestry book.

On another note, my cellphone’s USB cable now seems to only charge when it’s turned off. Unless, the reboot I did fixed that. Then, I won’t be in such a rush to get a new phone. It may just be me, but I like to be able to charge my phone overnight, while it’s turned on so that my alarm can wake me up.

Oooh! Speaking of which, I can use the latest Hanson single as my alarm/ringtone!! I’ll have to try to remember to do that at some point tomorrow or this weekend! (Watch me forget in about 5 minutes.)

Hanson’s latest single!!

So, let’s see. What else can I add?

Um .. I just heard that Justin Bieber has gotten into drug use now. I’d kind of like to say ‘poor kid’, but from what I hear, he’s an ass to most of the non-famous. I simply don’t understand why his fans appear to be in love with him. I don’t bash him or anything. I see no point in doing so. I don’t like him, but hey. Who am I to tell people they can’t like him? That’d be .. an almost fundamentalist thing of me to do!

Does anyone consider me a ‘fundamentalist atheist’ or whatever? Fuck it. Just go ahead and say it, if you think so.

So anyway, I guess that’s it for now.

Saturday, April 13, 2013

(What Could Have Been) A Saturday Date Night

So, I almost went on a date tonight, but the guy that I've just started talking to on OKCupid waited too late to respond to my texts. He asked me out to go bowling with him. I asked him if Midtown Bowl was okay. He said he didn't know where it was and I told him to Google it. He never got back to me until I finally said that something had 'come up' and 'maybe we could try again tomorrow'. Of course, he immediately responded to THAT text saying "Damn, that's a shame."

WTFis wrong with this guy? I gave him plenty of time to respond to me! Yet, I still feel bad for being the one to back out of the date? I know I shouldn't feel bad at all since he was the one to approach me about the date, but seriously, I feel like I could have .. tried harder when we first started talking. 

Actually, now that I think about it, I could be thinking of the other guy I just started talking to as well on the same day. He still hasn't responded to my first reply to his message to me. I don't know.

What I need to do is get started on this application for a volunteer opportunity as well as looking for classes or a new job. It's not like my boss isn't super strict to not let me do that during the day at work when I've got nothing else to do. Or I could just do it any weeknight, but instead I'm posting onto my blog, tweeting, looking at youtube videos, or just writing more of my fanfiction stories. 

I need to just buckle down and get it done. What's stupid is that I am rarely ever busy on weeknights or weekends, so it's not like I don't have time or can't make time to do it. I'm just a procrastinator and I get distracted quite easily from tasks that I know I should do. I keep telling myself that every day that I procrastinate is one less day I have to get to my potential life-long career, if I will ever have one. Yet, I haven't managed to do jack squat about it!

I can't seem to decide on what my future career will be!! Ugh! It's like I'm stuck in the mode between high school and college - without a direction and a lack of ambition. Yep. Fear of the unknown. That's probably what it's boiled down to.

I could lose 15 pounds in bodyweight. This shouldn't be too different. I just have to figure out what my big goal is and set little goals to get to that big goal. Then, work on achieving said goals! The big goal is the hardest part for me to set, though. I know I want to change careers at least somewhat since I don't want to be a lawyer or do anything in the field of law. Others have suggested things that they say I'm good at. 

I'm partially scared that, if I do go back to school, that I won't push myself hard enough to do well. Maybe, since I'll be using my own money and no more inheritance or scholarships from high school, I'll be able to force myself to just do it. Maybe. Hopefully. 

I know, once I get old, I'm going to look back and regret being such a procrastinator and so fearful of change. I'm going to regret how long it took me to finally do what I know I should have done once I graduated from college back in December of 2007. (It took me an extra semester to graduate than most of my class.)

Anyways, if anybody's read this far, I applaud you. It seems like a hell of a lot of nothing to me and I fucking wrote it. Hmm .. I wonder ...

Oh, later all.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Another Friday Night Posting

So, here I am on my laptop in my room and listening to music on my iPod as I do some multi-tasking. Right now, my iPod is on a very old Hanson song. I mean really old - probably around 1995 or 1996 at the latest. This was from before they hit it big in 1997.

Anyways, so as I think I've said in a past blog, I'm an atheist. But, that does not mean that I've changed how I act in any way. I don't think I've really changed that much. I admit, I was more vocal on my FB page with sharing pics that I didn't need to be sharing - criticizing religion and all. I've since stopped that. Less .. family members .. see my Twitter posts (I think), so I still do sometimes retweet things on there that criticize religion. I also follow several atheists/agnostics on Twitter and Facebook - like Ricky Gervais, Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and Seth MacFarlane to name a few.

Well, it just never seems to be the right time to do a video blog. I still don't know if I'll ever do one. I'd probably feel stupid or something - like I'm talking to myself. I suppose I should try it once. I just feel like I'm already so scatterbrained that I don't know if I'd make any sense. Not sure I'd be that great at eye-contact either. I don't know. I'll keep thinking about it and try and get the courage to do it once. Ha ha!

Hmm .. well, I guess that's it for now. Have a great night, all!