Weird! On my way back from the bank today, I saw a flyer someone had taped to a post about religion and science. I wished I had my cellphone with me to get a picture of it so I could show you what it said. I didn't even get a chance to read the whole thing. I may even drive back to the place tomorrow just to take the picture.
Some of you know what my stance is on the two. If you don't, here's my take. Science is reality; religion is ancient people making stuff up to try to explain reality.
Some of you know what my stance is on the two. If you don't, here's my take. Science is reality; religion is ancient people making stuff up to try to explain reality.
It makes sense to me that ancient people came up with a God concept when they could not explain weather and other natural events. Each natural thing was a separate God for some - like the ancient Greeks, who believed in Zeus, Athena, Apollo, etc. It also makes sense that this idea of a God or Gods 'evolved' as people could investigate and dig for the truth of things they did not understand. What religion used to (and still does) attempt to explain, science has been discovering the truth about.
Science has certainly been wrong about things, but it doesn't claim to have absolute truth the way religions do. Science is always being questioned! (Something you're not allowed to do in almost all - if not all - religions.) There are always scientists looking to disprove what we think we know. But, it's always updating itself - in just the same way we update our technology all the time! Would you really want unchanging ideas about what actually is reality? To me, that seems like one would want to live with the cave-men.
No comments:
Post a Comment